Saturday, July 6, 2013

The Execution of Noa P. Singleton by Elizabeth Silver

by:  Elizabeth Silver
published by:  Crown Publishing
publish date:  June 11, 2013

Noa P. Singleton never spoke a word in her own defense throughout a brief trial that ended with a jury finding her guilty of first-degree murder. Ten years later, having accepted her fate, she sits on death row in a maximum-security penitentiary, just six months away from her execution date.

Noa is unexpectedly visited by the mother of her victim just 6 months before her execution date.  She is a high power attorney and is claiming that she no longer believes in the death penalty and is seeking clemency for Noa.  Marlene Dixon just wants to know why Noa killed her daughter.  Noa's story is unbelievable and heartbreaking. 

I was completely absorbed by this story.  Noa was such an unlikely character to be on death row.  I couldn't stop reading until I knew the whole story and what happened between Noa and Sarah.

I would definitely recommend this book to fans of adult crime literature.  Fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Anita Shreve will like this book.  I think this will be one of the big books this Summer.  Give it a read and see if you agree.

No comments: