Tuesday, May 12, 2015

This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Authors: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Date of publication: December 2014

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet's rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn's blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

This Shattered World is the second book in the Starbound series.  Autumn and I did a joint review of the first book last year.  This Shattered Worldthankfullyfeatures a new couple who are unwittingly caught up in a fight for their planet and their lives.  I say thankfully because I am getting a little tired of the same main characters involved in a trilogy that probably could be a duology or a little longer stand alone.  Having said that, I probably wouldn't read this one unless you have read These Broken Stars.  There are things in this one that refer back to the first and a new reader might be confused.

I enjoyed This Shattered World.  I thought it was a good addition to the series.  We learn a little more about the whispers and the evil Laroux industries.  There were a couple of twists that cause some anguish between Jubilee and Flynn but I was satisfied with the resolution.  As in the first, the romance is slow to build and that was refreshing.  Jubilee and Flynn slowly learn to trust each other without the insta-love. In the end there is the hope for a HEA.   One of the things that I have been liking about this series is the authors' ability to write a strong kick-ass female character.  I liked Jubilee and the fact that she could save herself.  She made a better match for the rebel Flynn.  

Fans of Lilac and Tarver from the first book will be happy to see them make an appearance. It also serves to help tie the two books together.  The next book, Their fractured Light comes out next year.  I look forward to the conclusion!

1 comment:

Sierra Abrams said...

I adore this series! Cannot wait to read "Their Fractured Light"...I've already preordered it! Haha!
Great review!

Sierra @ Yearning to Read