Friday, January 17, 2014

Jacquelyn Frank's The World of Nightwalker's Series Book 1-3

Today, we have the first three books in The World of the Nightwalker's series by author Jacquelyn Frank.   I did initially have a little trouble orienting myself to the world because I hadn't read any of the other books about Nightwalkers. This series introduces a new type called Bodywalkers.  Basically, Ancient Egyptian priests, kings, queens, etc never found eternal rest, so they reside in the Ether. They can make a deal with a recently deceased soul to share their body. The dead person comes back to life stronger and with another soul inside of them. That is over simplifying things, but you get the gist.  

Forbidden (Ballantine, October 2012) 

The unexpected happens in an instant. On her way to work, secretary Docia Waverley hurtles into a crashing crossroads, and she quickly begins to suspect that things will never be the same. Then, when a tall, blond, muscular stranger intervenes on her behalf, telling her it is his duty to protect her at all cost, what is just a feeling turns to proof positive. That is, as long as Docia’s savior doesn’t turn out to be a crazed kidnapper.

Forbidden is the first in the series" This is Ram and Docia's story.  Ram thinks that Docia has his queen's souls inside of her and he must protect her from enemies.  He finds that he has strong feelings for Docia and fights it because the soul Docia holds is fated for his friend Menes.  Like I said earlier, it's complicated.    This book was mostly set up for the world and explaining the war between The Templars and the Politics.  I felt like the romance between the two took a back seat to the overall story.  However, I did like them together.  I loved Docia and her lack of filter.  She was a fun character.

Forever (Ballantine, May 2013)

After being brought back from death, police officer Jackson Waverly receives the shock of his life: he has become host to a Bodywalker, a spirit that is reborn in flesh and blood, and part of a proud, ancient race that uses its extraordinary gifts to battle dark, evil forces. Jackson’s spirit is a powerful one—none other than the Egyptian pharaoh Menes, who longs to reunite with his eternal love, the Egyptian queen Hatshepsut.

The second book, Forever, is my favorite so far.  Mainly because it features Jackson and Marissa.  They are in the first book and the heat between them is really hot.  Jackson has come back from the dead with King Menes along for the ride.  Menes is looking for a vessel for his queen, Hatshepsut.  Jackson's strong attraction for Marissa makes her the perfect candidate.  The romance was really the main focus.  I thought their's wa a great love story.  Imagine loving someone for centuries. There isn't much in the way of advancement of the war in this book. We do see a new bad guy be reborn and he looks to be a major threat for the Politic.  This was a great addition to the series.

Forsaken (Ballantine, January 2014)

As a mercenary, Leo Alvarez has signed on for a lot—but he never signed on for his best friend becoming host to the soul of an ancient Egyptian pharaoh. Jackson is now inhabited by a Bodywalker, and Leo is forced to grapple with a realm of supernatural beings far more dangerous than anything he’s ever encountered.

Unfortunately, there is always one in a series that lets me down.  Out of the three, Forsaken was my least favorite.  For some reason, I just couldn't connect with the story.  I found myself putting the book down a lot and skimming parts.  I think it was Leo.  I loved him in the first two books. But in this one, he was just way too angry and the way he treats his friends was really off putting.  I did like Faith's character though and Leo did redeem himself in the end.  I just felt like it took too long to get to that point.  I was also very happy to see Chaltha gt what was coming to him.  What a psycho!

Overall, I can say that I am intrigued by the world that the author has built in this series.  I know I want to go back and read about the other Nightwalkers.  I also  look forward to the the next in the series, Forged.  I have liked Ahnvil since Forever.

 About the author:

Jacquelyn Frank is the New York Times bestselling author of the World of Nightwalkers series (Forbidden, Forever, andForsaken), the Three Worlds series (Seduce Me in Dreams andSeduce Me in Flames), the Nightwalkers series (Adam, Jacob, Gideon, Elijah, Damien, andNoah), the Shadowdwellers novels (Ecstasy, Rapture, and Pleasure), and the Gatherers novels (Hunting Julian and Stealing Katherine). She lives in North Carolina and has been writing romantic fiction ever since she picked up her first teen romance at age thirteen.
Learn more about Jacquelyn at her website,, on Facebook, or onTwitter.

Jacquelyn Frank’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, January 6th:  Supernatural Snark
Tuesday, January 7th:  A Chick Who Reads
Wednesday, January 8th:  Svetlana’s Reads and Views
Friday, January 10th:  Reader Girls
Monday, January 13th:  Mom in Love with Fiction
Wednesday, January 15th:  Books a la Mode - author Q&A
Thursday, January 16th:  Fiction State of Mind
Friday, January 17th:  From the TBR Pile
Monday, January 20th:  Queen of All She Reads
Tuesday, January 21st:  Bibliophilia, Please
Tuesday, January 21st:  A Night’s Dream of Books
Wednesday, January 22nd:  Book Marks the Spot
Thursday, January 23rd:  StuckInBooks
Sunday, January 26th:  Ladybug Literature
Monday, January 27th:  Books Without Any Pictures
Tuesday, January 28th:  Sara’s Organized Chaos
Wednesday, January 29th:  Love, Romance, Passion
Thursday, January 30th:  Booked on a Feeling

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Bummer that this one wasn't your favorite in the series but hopefully you'll love the next books as much as you loved the first two!

Thanks for being a part of the tour.