Friday, September 23, 2011

Blog Tour - Love at Absolute Zero

Author: Christopher Meeks
Publisher: White Whisker Books

"Love at Absolute Zero" is about Gunnar Gunderson, a 32-year-old star physicist at the University of Wisconsin. The moment he’s given tenure at the university, he can think of only one thing: finding a wife. His research falters into what happens to matter near absolute zero (−459.67 °F), but he has an instant new plan. To meet his soul mate within three days—that’s what he wants and the time he can carve out—he will use the Scientific Method. Can Gunnar survive his quest?

Gunnar Gunderson is a 32 YO scientist who has had his nose in a book and head in his research his entire adult life.  When he finally makes tenure, he realizes that it is time to find a wife.  What better way than to use the Scientific Method. It is what any good scientist would do, right? Besides, what could go wrong?  As he quickly finds out, everything!

Love at Absolute Zero is a funny, yet compelling read. Being a scientist, I liked the idea of using the Scientific Method to help find a soul mate.  It is an original idea and one that you know will make for some funny situations.  I wasn't disappointed! Some of the situations that Gunnar gets into just made me cringe,  yet I couldn't stop reading.  It is like a watching a train know it is coming, yet you can't seem to look away.   I was rooting for him the entire book. 

The peripheral characters round out the book nicely.  I hated Kara, but loved Ursula. I think most readers will agree!  The speed dating scenes were laugh-out-loud funny.  The book is worth reading just for those alone.   Will Gunnar be able to find true love?    You will have to read to find out!  


About the Author:

Christopher Meeks began as a playwright and has had three plays produced. Who Lives? A Drama is published. His short stories have been published in Rosebud, The Clackamas Literary Review, The Santa Barbara Review, The Southern California Anthology, The Gander Review, and other journals and are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. He has two novels, The Brightest Moon of the Century, a story that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as "a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving," and his new comic novel, Love At Absolute Zero.

1 comment:

Teddy Rose said...

I couldn't help but root for Gunner either! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.