Pages

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Blog Tour: The Bone Church by Victoria Dougherty

Author: Victoria Dougherty
Publication Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Pier’s Court Press

In the surreal and paranoid underworld of wartime Prague, fugitive lovers Felix Andel and Magdalena Ruza make some dubious alliances – with a mysterious Roman Catholic cardinal, a reckless sculptor intent on making a big political statement, and a gypsy with a risky sex life. As one by one their chances for fleeing the country collapse, the two join a plot to assassinate Hitler’s nefarious Minister of Public Enlightenment and Propaganda, Josef Goebbels.

But the assassination attempt goes wildly wrong, propelling the lovers in separate directions.


Felix’s destiny is sealed at the Bone Church, a mystical pilgrimage site on the outskirts of Prague, while Magdalena is thrust even deeper into the bowels of a city that betrayed her and a homeland soon to be swallowed by the Soviets. As they emerge from the shadowy fog of World War II, and stagger into the foul haze of the Cold War, Felix and Magdalena must confront the past, and a dangerous, uncertain future.

I have a love/hate relationship with historical romance.  I usually either love them or I hate them.  I loved the idea of The Bone Church, but I didn't care for the execution.  I really wanted to like this book, but I had the hardest time getting into the story.  I kept feeling like I had walked into the middle of a movie with no hint of back story to orient me.  I got to about 25% and decided the book 
just wasn't for me.  I felt like I was at a disadvantage since I don't know much about the history of the region in the book during WWII.  I wasn't invested enough to do my own research before finishing the book.  

I will say that I think lovers of this genre will devour this book.  Especially readers who love anything having to do with WWII.  It has gotten very favorable reviews all over Goodreads and the web.  So, please give it a try.  It just wasn't a good fit for me.


About the author:

Victoria Dougherty writes fiction, drama, and essays that often revolve around spies, killers, curses and destinies. Her work has been published or profiled in The New York Times, USA Today, International Herald Tribune and elsewhere. Earlier in her career, while living in Prague, she co-founded Black Box Theater, translating, producing and acting in several Czech plays. She lives with her husband and children in Charlottesville, Virginia.


For more information, please visit Victoria Dougherty’s website. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

Tour schedule:
Monday, June 16
Review at Flashlight Commentary
Interview at Mina’s Bookshelf
Tuesday, June 17
Interview at Flashlight Commentary
Wednesday, June 18
Excerpt at The Musings of ALMYBNENR
Thursday, June 19
Guest Post at I’d So Rather Be Reading
Thursday, June 26
Review at Bibliotica
Friday, June 27
Review at Back Porchervations
Monday, June 30
Review at Dianne Ascroft Blog
Review at Oh, For the Hook of a Book
Wednesday, July 2
Spotlight at CelticLady’s Reviews
Thursday, July 3
Review at leeanna.me
Monday, July 7
Review at Library Educated
Thursday, July 10
Excerpt & Spotlight at Books and Benches
Monday, July 14
Review at 100 Pages a Day
Tuesday, July 15
Review at Kinx’s Book Nook
Thursday, July 17
Guest Post at Savvy Verse & Wit
Friday, July 18
Review at Curling Up By the Fire
Monday, July 21
Review at Book Nerd
Tuesday, July 22
Review at The Lit Bitch
Wednesday, July 23
Review at A Bibliotaph’s Reviews
Thursday, July 24
Review at Mari Reads
Review at bookramblings
Friday, July 25
Interview at Oh, For the Hook of a Book
Tuesday, July 29
Review at Historical Tapestry
Wednesday, July 30
Review at Luxury Reading
Review at Queen of All She Reads
Thursday, July 31
Review at From the TBR Pile


1 comment:

Victoria Dougherty said...

Thanks so much for having me on. Victoria